World class athletes selected for equestrian 2016-2018 squad

The British Equestrian Federation (BEF) has named 10 event riders athletes who have been selected for the UK Sport National Lottery funded World Class Podium Potential Programme for 2016-2018.

Acting equestrian Performance Director Sarah Armstrong comments; “It was fantastic to see such a great depth of talent coming forward through the selection trials this summer, and I would like to congratulate all those selected on to the 2016 cohort. The performance pathway for our athletes, both equine and human, is vital to ensure the continued success of our sport in Great Britain and on the international stage.

“The continuing evolution of the Programme, which will see more tailored coaching, and a greater emphasis on sports science introduced throughout the next Olympic cycle, is designed to ensure that through Podium Potential we are helping to develop medal winners of the future.”

Among the new Podium Potential squad are event riders Bert Bolton and Imogen Murray who were on the BEF’s Excel Talent Programme, part of the rider talent pathway.

2016-2018 World Class Podium Potential Eventing squad:

  • Bert Bolton, Derbyshire
  • Rosalind Canter, Lincolnshire
  • Genevieve (Chuffy) Clarke, Surrey
  • Sam Ecroyd, Flintshire
  • William Furlong, East Sussex
  • Tom Jackson, Kent
  • Tom McEwen, Wiltshire
  • Imogen Murray, Leicester
  • Sarah Parkes, Warwickshire
  • Francesca Reid-Warrilow, Powys

Through the World Class Podium Potential Programme, athletes will receive support through world class coaching, human and equine sports science and medicine, nutrition and sports psychology, as part of an established training pathway. Podium Potential underpins the World Class Podium squad; from the 2014 intake, three athletes have progressed to the Podium squads. The equestrian World Class Programme relies on funding from UK Sport through National Lottery and the Exchequer, and athletes’ places on the Programme are dependent on the continuation of funding.

Read Previous

British Eventing make key rule changes for 2017

Read Next

2016 Accomplishments Celebrated at Year-End Awards Ceremony