Talented young riders make up the impressive list of entries for this year’s Land Rover Burghley.

Leading riders representing 10 nations from around the globe along with talented young riders make up the impressive list of entries for this year’s Land Rover Burghley.

No less than six previous winners of the event are among the 100 entries received: Oliver Townend and Pippa Funnell (Great Britain), Andrew Nicholson, Mark Todd MBE and Caroline Powell (New Zealand) and Rio Olympic team bronze medallist Chris Burton (Australia).

With a first prize of £95,000 and a total prize pot of over £300,000, it is hardly surprising that such a top class field has been attracted to enter what is acknowledged to be the most technically challenging equestrian competition of its kind in the world.

Oliver Townend, has a choice of three rides from 5 entries, which include his last year’s winner Ballaghmor Class. 
A strong Antipodean presence amongst the entries must be respected. New Zealand competitors have a good track record at Burghley, having secured the winner’s trophy 13 times in the last 30 years. Mark Todd MBE and Andrew Nicholson have both notched up five wins a piece; Andrew most recently being crowned winner of Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials for three years in succession. Fellow New Zealander Tim Price will be looking to add to his trophy cabinet. He has been in the top 5 placings at Land Rover Burghley in the past three years and will have a win firmly in his sights.

And so to the youth – some 20 competitors, some from overseas, but all to be welcomed to Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials for the first time.

These debutants will face strong competition from experienced home-side combinations including Tina Cook and Harry Meade (both team silver WEG medallists in 2014) and Piggy French who are all strong contenders for Team GB selection for the forthcoming World Equestrian Games.

To view the full list of received entries please click here

Read Previous

Magic Millions Festival of British Eventing hailed a success

Read Next

Netherlands name squad for WEG