Sweden names Eventing national squad for 2016

The Swedish Equestrian Federation has named a squad of ten riders who will make up its national eventing team for 2016.

Ten riders have been named on the squad, from which coach Staffan Lidbeck will choose representatives for the Olympic Games in Rio next summer.

The riders included on the eventing national team are:

  • Sara Algotsson Ostholt
  • Linda Algotsson
  • Frida Andersen
  • Sandra Gustafsson
  • Johan Lundin
  • Niklas Lindbäck
  • Anna Nilsson
  • Ludwig Svennerstål
  • Louise Svensson Jähde
  • Therese Viklund

Sara Algotsson Ostholt, Anna Nilsson, Niklas Lindbäck and Johan Lundin were members of the Swedish team who were fifth at this year’s European Eventing Championships at Blair Castle, whilst Louise Svensson Jähde and Ludwig Svennerstål were chosen as individuals.

To be a part of the Swedish senior national team requires riders to have competed at international 3 star or 4 star level and demonstrate potential for future championships.

Staffan Lidbeck commented that the big goal for the Swedish eventing team in 2016 was the Olympics and the squad who will travel to Rio will be announced in June 2016.

Read Previous


Read Next

Parkfield Breeding – 2015 comes to a close