So where are the best spectator views at Burghley this year?

Burghley is always a great spectator event but be prepared for a good walk if you wish to view the whole course. As usual the start and finish are up by ring 2 at the far end of the shopping area and by the celebrity talk area so worth a wander down to see what really goes on at the start and finish of a major 4*. Fascinating to watch  if it’s something you have yet to experience.

For those wanting a very majestic view of classic Burghley parkland then head down to the Lion Bridge at the other end of the shopping area. (Fences 4a and b). You may also catch a glimpse of the of the Anniversary Splash (5ab, 6ab and 7). Be warned Lion Bridge will be rammed on XC day so do check out the Land Rover Experience just below the bridge for some family entertainment.

If you follow the lake along you will arrive at the Land Rover Trout Hatchery which offers fences (Fences 20a,b,c,d and 21). Sit at the top of the hill, arriving early to bag a picnic space and enjoy the action.

Just along from this is the Discovery valley which again is always a popular destination (Fences 24a and b).

If you fancy going the extra mile do walk the Winners Avenue (Fence 12) to explore the names of some of the great past winners of Burghley.

William Fox-Pitt is Burghley’s most successful competitor, having won the title six times (1994, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2011), with Virginia Elliott (née Holgate), Mark Todd and Andrew Nicholson winning five times (Virginia Elliott in 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986 and 1989; Mark Todd in 1987, 1990, 1991, 1997 and 1999; Andrew Nicholson in 1995, 2000, 2012, 2013 and 2014).

Just two horses have won Burghley twice (Priceless in 1983 and 1985 and Avebury in 2012 and 2013), but Avebury now holds the record, having clinched his third win in 2014. In fact, the Andrew Nicholson-Avebury duo made history last year across the board, becoming the only rider, horse and rider/horse combination to have won the Burghley title for three consecutive years: 2012, 2013 and 2014.

So who will be added as the 2015 winner? We will just have to wait and see!

Nikki Goldup

Read Previous


Read Next

All change but Jung stays in pole position