Report by Natalie Clark

Photographs Courtesy of Hoofprints Photography by HR and Lorraine Porter

Jessica Acheson took home the top prize in Open Novice Section D riding her own Creevagh Connection. The pair held onto the lead after posting an impressive 24.8 dressage score to fend off second placed Vittoria Panizzon (Chequers Play The Game), despite adding 3.6 time penalties in the final phase.

“It was our first novice together and I thought the course was a reasonable test. There were plenty of questions but it rode great and allowed the horses to grow in confidence as they went. It really encouraged both horse and rider to think forward and keep a lovely rhythm the whole way,” said Jessica.

The pair are on a winning spree after winning the BE100 open section last weekend at Portman.

“I thought the organising team and volunteers did a great job. Everyone was very friendly and I will definitely be going back,” Jessica added.

Piggy French rounded off the top three in this section riding Morswood who finished on 29.5, an equal score with Vittoria but the latter’s mount finished closest to the optimum time cross country. The Italian team rider suffered a similar fate in novice section a when One Night Love lost out on a red ribbon to Sara Squires and Wing Man by just 0.3 of a penalty.

Sara also finished third in novice section b riding Master PJ.

“I was pleased with both horses, they gave me great rides. I’m especially pleased with Wingman as I only rides him occasionally while his owner’s daughter is too busy with school,” said Sara.

“The cross country course rode well and it encouraged positive riding, the course has changed to when I was here last and the new combinations were quite challenging but rewarded those that committed,” added Sara.

Oliver Townend finished third in this section riding Pursuit. Oliver had to settle for second in novice section c when Ridire Dorcha kicked out one shoe jump and promoted Chris Hall (Paganini) to the top spot. Emma Forsyth (Casario) took home third when 3.6 cross country penalties were added to her 25.5 first phase mark.

Novice Section B belonged to Joern Warner and Vicco Pop who wound up on their 26 dressage score, 2.8 marks ahead of Helen Waterhouse’s Maesmawr Fox.

Sophie Brise piloted Unbelievable Spring Dream to the top spot in BE100 Open Section F ahead of Alice Pearson (Amazing Jigsaw) in second and third placed Robbie Alman-Wilson (Commanche Storm).

Vittoria Panizzon and Super Cillious led from the start on BE100 section P winning by a 5.5 margin over Rosie Alcorn (Beauparc Blue Diamond). Oliver Townend and Harthill Olympic finished third in this class.


Sannanvalley Classic won BE100 section o under Jenny Yate despite adding one too fast time penalty across the country. They finished one penalty ahead of Stephanie D’andrimont’s score of 22 aboard Daisy XV. Anastasia Robinson (Kilfearagh Lady) finished in third.

Izzy Taylor (Omar) won BE100 section H on a score of 22. Second placed Matthew Glentworth (Swing II) finished second just behind on 22.3 with Emma Forsyth (Sherlock Holmes III) taking home third.

BE100 section g was dominated by world class riders with Australia’s Paul Tapner (Wickstead Kangaroo) taking home the trophy. Vicky Tuffs (It’s Cooley) finished second and Vittoria Panizzon (Magwa) third.

Bettina Hoy (Monte Classico) retained her impressive dressage reputation by posting a mark of 18, which she finished on. The closest rivals were Bill Levett and Midsummer Focus who wound up on 32.5 with James Robinson (Cassan) finishing third.

Four BE90 sections were run. Stephen Rees (Ursula 19) won BE90 section l. Gill young (Ifan) and Iesha Wilding (Catherston Roundabout) filled the runner up spots.

In BE90 section k Rosie Pothecary (Hes The Man) was victorious. Holly Preece (Starfield Ziggy) was second and Jackie Cornwell (William XIII) was third.

BE90 section j was won by Peter Davies (Hope Classy Chassi) with Jess Bowen (Vieuw Point) and Sadie Jones (Bertie Bluck) filling second and third.

Another high scoring section was BE90 section I which was won by Kathrin O’Connor (Marguertie Bart) on 22.5. Second placed Emily McCollum (Ballybay Jessica) finished on 24.8, just 0.5 ahead of Millie Cooper (Moelwyn Kai).

Vanessa Malin and Miss Bonnie went home with a red ribbon from BE80(T) section n after Henrietta Verschoyle’s Brendonhill Bon Chance kicked out two show jumping rails to finish in second place. Becky Pugh (Orillia County) was third.

The second BE80 section (section m) was won by Debroah Paget (Kilmastulla Amazon) with Oliver Thompson (Goldengrove Stavros) and Tammy-Jo Bethell (Reckless) completing their top three.

“We are over the moon with the number of entries and the event ran very smoothly. There were no real major issues or problems out on the cross country and there seemed to be no one bogey fence, which is always good,” said organiser Alan Thacker.

Please do Not remove any Photographs from EWW, if you would like any of our Images please get in touch we would be delighted to help you :0)

Read Previous

Toulon (Heartbreaker) x Candillo (Cassini) x Lord Colando (2011) Mare

Read Next