Ben Mcclumpha earned himself twelve points and his best win to date in the open Intermediate section V at Pontispool on Willows Tipster. The Ludlow-based rider piloted the eleven-year-old gelding into the top spot by posting the second fastest cross country round in a section where only one pair finished with a penalty free round. Ben added 0.8 of a time penalty to a 32.7 first phase score while Flora Lickiss and George V’s faultless cross country round saw them wind up in second placed.

Alexander Whewall and Beanie Sturgis won an intermediate section apiece. Chakiris Star gave Alexander Whewall his third win of the day by taking home the trophy in Intermediate section T. The Bristol-based rider also won BE100 section A on AKD Terra Nova and Novice section P on Edyvanta. Brazil’s Ruy Fonseca and Korsica were the nearest rivals in the Intermediate section right penalties behind the winner. Beanie Sturgis’s The Corn Crake finished nearly ten penalties ahead of Lucinda Fredericks and Cos I Will after posting a stunning 25.2 dressage score. No combinations completed inside the optimum time on the final phase in this section.

Rebecca Pugh won the Open Novice under 18 class on her own GCD Zergorgino. Out of 16 completions in this class they were the only pair to finish on their dressage score which saw them elevate from eighth after the first phase to top of the class. Three combinations didn’t complete with two retiring and one being eliminated on the cross country. Both jumping tracks proved influential with only three combinations clearing the show jumps and only four completing the cross country penalty free, nine jumped the final phase clear.

Sixteen combinations contended the Open Novice section with 14 completing. Eleven posted clear jumping rounds in the final phase with only three making the time. Jo Clarke won this section riding Frankly who added just 3.8 cross country time penalties to a 25.8 dressage score.

Tim Cheffings took top honours and qualified for the eventing festival at Gatcombe with Woodlander Rhythm N Blues. The pair finished on their dressage score as did the top four in this section.

Louisa Lockwood (The Chocolate Musketeer) and Bruce Haskell (Moon Under Water) took home trophies from the remaining novice sections. Oliver Smith finished at the top of the leader board in Intermediate Novice section r riding Colorfast II. The show jumping proved most influential in this phase with only two combinations out of the ten finishers clearing the coloured poles.

As ever the Somerset event was popular and hosted three days of action packed competition. The organising team put on two BE80(T) sections which were headed by Bella Balian (Merlino) and Alexandra Reeve (Dyamond Ronda), four BE90 sections won by Danielle Frost (Hollyfort Lad), India Eaton (Pebbly Knight Of The Realm), Saskia Layburn (Aerospace) and Beth Miller (Runnymeade Diamond) while section h was shared by Shanice Walton (Verdict) and Amy Cox (Chantilly VI) who tied on an impressive 24.5.

Alexander Whewall claimed first and second prizes in BE100 section A with AKD Terra Nova and Ellfield Grafifi respectively. Archie Lowe (Skymond), Jo Retallack (Landmark Dandy) and Tamsyn Hutchins (Mr Tumnus II) all won BE100 sections. The title in BE100 open section D went to Richard Evans and Brown Sugar III while the trophy in the BE100 under 18 section belonged to Emily Williams and Culverlane St William Of York.

Report by Natalie Clark
Photographs courtesy of Tanzy Lee




Read Previous

Askham Bryan GB Young Rider Provisional Long List announced

Read Next