Owners rewarded for 2016 GB selection

Under a new initiative to reward and recognise the loyalty and dedication of owners within eventing, British Eventing has announced that the owners of any horse who represented GB on a Championship team in 2016 have been granted with a complimentary BE membership.

Brainchild of Yogi Breisner and Chairman of the Event Horse Owners Association (EHOA), Cathy Butler, and approved and strongly supported by the BE Board of Directors, owners of horses selected for Rio 2016 receive a two year membership in acknowledgment of their horse’s achievements and their support to British Eventing. Whilst owners of the team silver medal winning Charles Owen Pony European team, the team bronze medal winning Racesafe Junior team and the Askham Bryan Young Rider European Championship team have been presented with a 12 month membership for their services to BE.

BE Chief Executive David Holmes commented; “We are delighted to be able to show our appreciation for what our fantastic owners put into the sport. We thank all of our owners within British Eventing and must congratulate the British team horses on their huge achievement of being selected to represent Great Britain. It is also wonderful to receive letters from owners thanking us for their complimentary membership and we wish them an enjoyable and successful 2017 season with BE.”

Chairman of the EHOA, Cathy Bulter, added; “It is wonderful that the sport will be acknowledging owners in this way and recognising the support they give to their riders, and their country, in using their horses to represent Team GBR at every level.”

2016 Championship Horses

Rio 2016

  • Billy the Biz owned by the late Carol Toliver
  • Billy The Red owned by Mrs Elizabeth Murdoch
  • Ceylor L A N owned by Diana Bown, Jacqueline Owen and Samantha Wilson
  • Chilli Morning owned by Mr Christopher & Lisa Stone
  • Quicklook V owned by The Pebbles Syndicate


Askham Bryan Young Rider European Championship

  • Bulano owned by Katie Bleloch
  • Dargun owned by Mrs Jane Del Missier
  • Livingstone II owned by Will Furlong
  • Opera House owned by Mrs Penelope Ecroyd
  • The Masters Harry owned by India Wishart


Racesafe Junior European Championship

  • Albert VI owned by Chelsea Pearce
  • Eros DHI owned by Mrs Rachel Upton
  • Fleetwood Mac V owned by Chelsea Round
  • Kananaskis owned by Richard Coney
  • RHS Contend or owned by Ms Vicky Collins and Mrs Avirna Milton
  • Union Fortunus owned by Phoebe Locke and Miss Jamie-lee Day

Charles Owen Pony European Championships

  • Alfie XI owned by Eloise Carter
  • Craig Mor Tom owned by Eloise Carter
  • Cuffesgrange Little Ric owned by Saffron Cresswell
  • Drop the Subject owned by Anya Kolleth
  • Sycamore Lad owned by Mr John Thornton

Read Previous

BEF makes new appointments

Read Next

UK Sport announces BEF’s award for Tokyo cycle