Long list announced for the Charles Owen Pony European squad

British Eventing has announced a long list riders and ponies who will represent Great Britain at the 2016 FEI Pony European Championships.

Fifteen year old Saffron Cresswell and Cuffesgrange Little Ric, who won the Charles Owen National Pony Championship at Brand Hall last weekend, and who were part of the Pony Gold Medal winning team in Malmo, Sweden, in 2015 are amongst the combinations to be named.
From the list, six combinations will be selected for the Charles Owen Pony European Championship squad for the event which takes place at Vilhelmsborg, Denmark, in August.
The chosen combinations are as follows:
  • Eloise Bartlett, 16 from Hampshire, with her own 16 year old Irish gelding Killacoran Blue
  • Lauren Booth, 15 from Gloucestershire, and her own 12 year old Irish gelding Holiday Chase
  • Pandora Briselden, 15 from Wiltshire, on the eight year old Irish gelding, Bramblebrough Eoghan, owned by Mrs Penny Sharpe and Pandora
  • Eloise Carter, 15 from Suffolk, with her own 16 year old British gelding Alfie XI
  • Saffron Cresswell, 15 from Worcestershire, and her own 11 year old Irish gelding Cuffesgrange Little Ric
  • Molly Faulkner, 14 from Kent, with either the 12 year old Irish gelding Sycamore Lad, owned by Mr John Thornton or Mrs Amanda Faulkner’s 20 year old British mare Catherston Nutsafe
  • Eve Hobbs, 15 from Worcestershire, and her own 14 year old Irish gelding Wye Valley Fabristead
  • Anya Kolleth, 15 from Shropshire, with either her own 11 year old Irish gelding Laburnum Ineer her own 17 year old Irish mare Drop the Subject
  • Alexandra Mackenzie, 16 from Devon, and the 8 year old British gelding, Stambrook Masterful, owned by Ms Josie Mackenzie
  • Niamh Warburton, 15 from Oxfordshire, on her own 8 year old Irish gelding Lydican Star
  • Connie Warde-Aldam, 15 from South Yorkshire, with Miss Eloise Carter’s 15 year old gelding Craig Mor Tom

Further horses and riders may be added or removed from the squad before the final section is made later in the year.

Sarah Carless

Read Previous

Horse Sport Ireland announce Eventing Team for Rio Olympics

Read Next

Askham Bryan Young Rider European squad long list announcement