Rika Nile reports….

Cambridgeshire’s Little Downham (1) Horse Trials welcomed competitors from all levels, hosting classes from BE90 to Advanced. The Childeric sponsored event, held at Ely Eventing Centre, was organised by Tina Ure and saw nearly 800 combinations run across 26 sections.

Andrew Nicholson had a successful Advanced campaign winning section E with Swallow Springs after only adding a few time to their 26.3 dressage score to finish just ahead of Izzy Taylor and Kiltar Alda and Louise Harwood with Jenga II who took 3rd. Andrew also took 5th and 7th in Advanced section E, on Luhmühlen bound rides, Perfect Stranger and Qwanza.


Emily Llewellyn and her flashy stallion Exclusive won Intermediate section A finishing seven marks ahead of closest rival Izzy Taylor (My Marley And Me), after jumping a double clear, adding just 1.2 time penalties to their 28 dressage. Intermediate section B was won by Ben [emember_protected custom_msg=’This content is only available to Members, to read more of this article please Join HERE or if you are a member please LOGIN‘]
McClumpha and Keep Cruising to mark their second Intermediate win of the season. Gemma Tattersall and Chillis Gem headed Intermediate section C whilst Rosalind Canter finished off the Intermediate level sections with a win in OI section D with Zenshera.

The second placings in both Advanced section E and Intermediate section A was just the start of Izzy Taylor’s Little Downham campaign, which saw her in the ribbons on seven out of eight rides across the weekend. Winning Novice section O on Fleurelle, Izzy also added a further 2nd (Star Quality II, Novice section P), 4th (Kiltealy Catch Up, Novice section P), 5th (Extreme II, Intermediate section B) and 8th (Impromptu II, Advanced section E) to her success.

The Novice Regional Final (section H) was headed by Virginia Wells and Cassino Reeb who performed a 21.8 dressage adding only 0.8 time penalties to their score to secure the section ahead of Sharon Hunt and Veyga. 3rd place went to Rosalind Canter and Pencos Crown Jewel, who built on her NRF and OI form to place on all seven rides, having a further 3rd, two 4ths, 6th and 7th placings.

ONu18 section R was topped by Alice Hallows and Chalice who finished on their 25.5 dressage score, just a fraction ahead of Alice Davies-Cooke and Longfordpass Delux, who also jumped a double clear on a 25.5 dressage score, but 0.4 time penalties just slipped them into 2nd. As well as taking 2nd, Alice also finished 4th with Discovery V finishing on their dressage 27.3.

The KBIS sponsored 5YO section M had some impressive dressage scores with Sarah Bullimore and Corouet leading the phase with 21.3. However the combination added a 7.2 time to their score to put them into 3rd and open the top spot, which was filled by Simon Grieve and Wish He Was Yours (23.5), with Annie Bellamy and Shannondale Aston (26.5) in 2nd.

The grassroots classes were well represented with nine sections between BE90 and BE100, as well as open sections for each level. Mollie Rix and Titanic marked their first win of the season after heading BE90 section S, finishing on a 23 dressage score. 2nd and 3rd went to Rachel Woolley (Appache Breeze) and Michelle Lowe (Millend Flyer) respectively, who were only seperated by 0.2 of a penalty.

Joanne Watts and Darc Legend continued their previous BE success having their first win of the season in BE90 U, after recently placing 8th at the Mitsubishi Motors Cup BE90 championships. No strangers to winning, Little Downham marked Joanne and Darc Legend 7th BE win. BE90Open section W was succesful for Virginia Turnbull who placed 1st and 3rd with Fidalgo Classic and Lime Rickey repsectively.

Sharon Hunt rode Loughnatousa Venture to a win in BE100 section Y, finishing on their 22 dressage, ahead of Kathy Staples and Foxs Castle who finished on 24.3 and Emma Dougall and Inxs (25.9). BE100 section L gave Sarah Parkes and Lynwood Constitution their first win together after posting a 21 dressage and jumping a double clear, also having the best dressage across the BE100 sections.

Section winners: Philippa Cross and Cool Blue (BE90 section T), Juliet Cottey and Ballyogan Boy (BE90 section V), Mollie Harris and Stambrook Miss D Mena (BE100 section J), Christopher Burton and Fire Fly (BE100 section K), Daniel Alderson and Thornhill Echo (BE100 section X), Malcolm Holtshausen and Trevarrick (BE100open section Z), Martha Craggs and Garrybritt Coole Park (BE100plus section N), Greta Mason and Cooley For Sure (Novice section F), Vittoria Panizzon and Corinthian Clover (Novice section G), Lucy Hawley and Helpful Harry II (Open Novice section Q), Gemma Plastow and Laurentian Lad (Intermediate Novice section I).

To purchase your images from Little Downham please visit Lorraine Porter’s website


Read Previous


Read Next