Glamour and glitz at the first Cumbria Horse Trials Awards Ball

Sarah Carless…

Around 230 guests attended the first ever Cumbria Horse Trials Awards Ball held at the glittering venue of The Halston in Carlisle on Saturday 29th October 2016.

Double winner Clare Chappelhow received both the Robinson Udale Cumbria Riders Challenge Trophy, for the best results of the season at Cumbria based Horse Trials, along with the Maiden Marine ‘Owner of the Year’ Award, for the highest scoring owner of the year. 


Ashleigh Hale took the title of the top scoring rider aged 19 – 21 years winning the Cumberland Building Society Young Rider Champion and 12 year old Freya Gaitskell claimed the Lakes Free Range Co Junior Champion title for the best scoring rider aged 12 – 18 years old. 

The Blackdyke Competition Centre sponsored ‘Rider of the Year’ Award went to Jennifer Pearson who in the judge’s eyes had demonstrated excellence and had consistently achieved top results across the seven British Eventing fixtures in Cumbria.

In recognition of her remarkable commitment to the sport by volunteering and participating young Holly Veitch, aged just 13, went home with the All Round Eventer Award. Lucinda Crawford’s 8.5 dressage score on Cameron Crawford’s Vattrick at the Dalston Green (2) fixture earned her the AW Jenkinson Forest Products Performance of the Year. Emma Corner collected her justly earned Waitings Warwick Hall Cup for an amazing set of results riding her own Iamwotiam across the three fixture mini series.

It was an occasion to celebrate and recognise all the many volunteers, so critical to the success of the Cumbrian events, and hosts Douglas and Lucinda Weymouth awarded Jacqui Dodds with her deserved Volunteer Award.

There were also a number of awards presented in the unaffiliated event categories to encourage riders to progress to the Airowear BE80(T) level and Deborah Hogg and Leilani Bartlett took the Adult and Junior titles respectively for their leading positions.

The full list of Cumbria Horse Trials 2016 Awards

Robinson Udale Cumbria Riders Challenge Trophy Clare Chappelhow riding Crackenthorpe Wanikiy

Cumberland Building Society Cumbria Young Rider Award Ashleigh Hale riding Coathamdine Salt N’ Pepper

Lakes Free Range Egg Co. Cumbria Junior Rider Award Freya Gaitskell riding Orkney’s Classic

Waitings Warwick Hall Cup Emma Corner riding Iamwotiam

Maiden Marine ‘Owner of the Year’ Award Clare Chappelhow

AW Jenkinson Forest Products ‘Performance of the Year’ Award  Lucinda Crawford riding Vattrick

Blackdyke Competition Centre ‘Rider of the Year’ Award  Jennifer Pearson

Cumbria Horse Trials ‘All-Round Eventer’ Award Holly Veitch

British Eventing Awards over the past year – for dedication to the sport: Richard Tyas, Patricia Harrison, Francesca Weymouth, Tim Finch, Gay Parkin

The Cumbria Horse Trials ‘Volunteer Award’ for outstanding support to the sport in Cumbria:
Jacqui Dodds

A Special Award – ‘for long service’ Cathy Clarke’s veteran horse ‘Brian James’

Read Previous

Super start for the Gatehouse 1* League

Read Next

EMILY KING – My season has come to an end now…