Equestrian Sports New Zealand has announced Eventing High Performance Squads for 2019.

The fast-approaching Tokyo Olympic Games have been front of mind for eventing selectors as they scrutinised New Zealand’s top-performing combinations to decide the squards for the coming year.

The High Performance Squad comprises horse and rider combinations committed to and capable of contributing to a podium team placing at the 2020 Olympic Games. Clarke Johnstone and Balmoral Sensation remain the only New Zealand based combination on the High Performance Squad which is dominated by riders based in the UK, including: Sir Mark Todd (NZB Campino, Leonidas II, Kiltubrid Rhapsody and McClaren), Tim Price (Ringwood Sky Boy and Bango), Jonelle Price (Classic Moet and Faerie Dianimo for Jonelle).

The High Performance Futures Squad consists of combinations that are knocking on the door to high performance.

Tim Price also has Xavier Faer and Ascona M included on the Futures squad. Amanda Pottinger and Just Kidding have made the step up to the Futures squad along with Dan Jocelyn (Grovine de Reve), Caroline Powell (On the Brash), Jesse Campbell (Amsterdam 21) and Blyth Tait (Havanna).

The High Performance Potential Squad (previously known as the Future Potential Recognition squad) is aimed as recognising talented eventing riders that are capable of and committed to producing high performance horses for future Olympic Games and World Equestrian Games.

The squad features a few changes including new members Hayley Frielick, Monica Oakley and Abby Lawrence, who join James Avery, Samantha Lissington (nee Felton), Ginny Thompson, Joe Meyer, Nick Brooks, Donna Edwards-Smith and Bundy Philpott.

Read Previous

Pippa and William Funnell have been announced as the latest high-profile Vice Presidents..

Read Next

Barbury International Horse Trials has a new organising team at the helm in the shape of Musketeer Event Management.