Equestrian Australia has announced its teams for the 2019 Oceania Championships.

It will be the first time that three Australian teams will be competing in the challenge, the largest contingent of Australian athletes to attend the biennial event to date.

The Oceania Championships, being held at Taupo in New Zealand (10-12th May 2019) are a critical component of the High-Performance programs preparation for the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020, providing a unique opportunity for athletes to experience the new Olympic format.

A staging camp will take place in NSW for all team and reserve combinations prior to the Championships. The camp will focus on team culture; competition preparation, and will also give riders the opportunity to train with team coaches Nelson Pessoa, Sam Lyle and Will Enzinger. Following the training camp the selectors will confirm which of the combinations will form each team of four including the specification of those that will participate as the three team combinations and one individual combination.

High-Performance Sports Director, Chris Webb comments: “The Championships are an important element of our strategy leading into Tokyo 2020 to ensure our athletes are best placed to succeed at the Games. We look forward to a productive staging camp prior to departure for New Zealand, and what I am sure will be a competitive Championships in Taupo.”

Oceania Championships Senior Teams

Amanda Ross & Dicavalli Diesel; with Koko Popping Candy and Dondiablo (reserves)
Emma Bishop & CP Issey Miyake
Emma Mason & Warrego Marco Polo
Jade Findlay & Oaks Cordelia
Jessica Rae & Rascal
Madeline Wilson & I’m Bruce
Shane Rose & Ultimate Velocity
Sonja Johnson & Misty Isle Valentino

Annabel Armstrong & Quaprice
Callum Buczak & Matavia Cheval
Gemma Tinney & Annapurna
Hamish Cargill & Legolas KPH
Oceania Championships Young Rider Team
Tayah Andrew & Silver Force
Jordyn Faint & Double S & Evergreen Jackpot
Isabelle McLachlan & Ventura
Stephanie Hann & True Celebre

Hannah Klep & Reprieve

Read Previous

Grant Wilson appointed as Show Jumping coach to the Irish Eventing team

Read Next

Officials for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo have been appointed.