Canada names High-performance Eventing squad

Four riders have been named as part of the Equestrian Canada (EC) 2018 Eventing High Performance Squad.

The decision, made by the eventing committee, was based on FEI results from the 2017 season, with xx riders named as part of the development Squad. The squads will be guided by former US Olympia David O’Connor as they build up to the World Equestrian Games.

The high-performance squad includes
· Colleen Loach; Qorry Blue d’Argouges
· Selena O’Hanlon; Foxwood High
· Jessica Phoenix, Pavarotti
· Kathryn Robinson; Let It Bee

The development squad includes
· Hawley Bennett-Awad; Jollybo
· Lindsay Beer; Kennystown Frankie
· Dana Cook; Mississippi and FE Stormtrooper
· Lisa Marie Fergusson; Honor Me
· Sabrina Glaser; Rembrandt
· Rebecca Howard; Riddle Master
· Lesley Grant-Law; Harthill Diamond
· Brandon McMechan; Oscar’s Wild
· Jessica Phoenix; Bogue Sound
· Waylon Roberts; Kelecyn Cognac, Lancaster and Mindful

“The Canadian athletes had a strong season in 2017 at the international 2*, 3* and 4* levels,” commented Dr Rob Stevenson, Chair of the EC Eventing High Performance Advisory Group. “2017 also marked the first year of our strategic partnership with the eventing data analytics company, EquiRatings. This proved to be a valuable investment both for athletes and the High Performance Advisory Group.”

Dr. Stevenson continued, “We are fortunate to once again have David O’Connor providing technical guidance to our athletes. Given the success he has had with the Canadian team in the past, we feel this bodes well for 2018. At this time, we believe we have the horses and athletes, the leadership, and the strategy that should yield strong results in 2018 and beyond.”

Read Previous

Great Britain Student Riders – AIEC-SRNC World Finals Poland 2017

Read Next

A Sterling Year For British Bred Equines Celebrated at The British Breeders 21st Anniversary Awards Dinner and Ceremony