It was a good day in the office for Matthew Heath who took three trophies and two second placed rosettes over his twelve rides at Aston-le-Wall’s second 2015 fixture. Lismore Lad took home top honours in Open Intermediate section D by adding just 0.8 of a time penalty to his 28.4 dressage fending off runner up Danielle Dunn (Zocarla BLH) by just 0.6, this pair would have taken the title had they no accumulated 3.6 cross country time penalties.

Matthew, who is based on site at Aston, also rode Goodness Me to victory in Intermediate section K with Amy Tough (Colimbo Nimbus) and Ben Way filling second and third places. Moorea won Open Novice section T under Matthew by a margin of 0.10 of a penalty over Hannah Galley’s Winchester V. Lucy Goodey rode Button It into third place.

Matthew had a lot to celebrate as it was his birthday during Aston and after his wins he tweeted “not bad for an old boy!”

The popular event hosted a total of three Open Intermediate sections with Oliver Townend and Nick Gauntlett taking a section each on Red Andes Fanfare and Crown Talisman respectively.

Devon rider Emily King continued her purple patch with a win in the open intermediate under 21 on Loxley. The pair put in a very polished performance in between the white boards to score 22.7 and added one rail in the second phase, they also accrued 2.4 too fast time penalties in the final phase. Second place went to Ella Hitchman who had two rides in the section, best placed was Rocky Rockstar and eighth Watercolour III.

Of the remaining Intermediate sections Ireland’s Aoife Clark and Kings Advocate III’s impressive first phase score of 25.9 meant they could afford the 6.4 cross country time penalties to stay ahead of second placed Laura Collett and Mr Bass who wound up on 33.60. Third placed Georgie Spence riding Billy Ball finished on 40.70. Georgie also finished third in section I which was won by Ed Eltham’s Avonia just ahead of Izzy Taylor and Direct Puissance.

Andrew Nicholson took home two red rosettes from Intermediate Section A on Byrnesgrove First Diamond and Section C on Liberto II. Britain’s Daisy Berkeley finished first in section F while Joern Warner (Vicco Pop) fended off some big names to take the trophy in section B.

The pony trial section was a close affair with first placed Thomas Tulloch (Spirit IV) and Connie Warde-Aldam (Hotshots) finished on an equal score of 32.4 but the former being closer to the optimum time meant Connie had to settle for second, 0.8 ahead of Harriet Wright (Foxtown Cufflynx) who finished third.

Girls ruled supreme in the ten Novice sections that were held with Matthew Heath’s win in open novice section t being the only one where a male rider triumphed. The second open novice section went to Sarah Parkes and Definitely Blue who completed on their 30 dressage score. Annabel Carthy won the open novice under 18 on her own Salitan. Izzy Taylor (Extreme II), Bettina Hoy (Monte Classico), Piggy French (Jump Jet II), Ginny Howe (CVS Indian Summer), HelenCole (Andreas), Caroline Harris (Budle Beach) and Vittoria Panizzon (Super Cillious) each took home novice trophy.

Eight BE100 classes were also held across the three days of competition. Jessica Stephens won the under 18 section riding the 15.3hh eleven-year-old mare, Zilona. They finished 1.5 penalties ahead of Emma Thomas and The Apache Kid.

Two open sections ran with Bill Levett posting a convincing win in section Z on Matinee Idol II, the pair would have finished on their 22 dressage score if they had have been a couple of seconds slower cross country but instead ended up with one too fast time penalty to add. Second placed Lauren Innes and Lawns Oddson were another to finish too quickly with two penalties to add. Interesting five combinations in this section added too fast time faults most notably Lucy Kitchen whose Nadal dropped from what would have been a 14th place finish to 28th after adding 15 too fast time penalties.

In BE100 Open section V Ellen Goodwin’s Shannondale Vendi took top honours over Sophie Miles (Donnerstar) and Sarah Parkes (Murphy Mayhill). Four combinations in this section added too fast time penalties ranging from three to nine.

Australia’s Kevin McNab won BE100 section W with Catch Me 51 while Kathy Staples was unbeatable in both section X (Directors Chair) and section Y (Foxs Castle). Section Z1 went to Zoe Wilkinson (Francoe PFB) and Kylie Roddy (Grovepark Dassett) won section U.

Report by Natalie Clark

Photographs courtesy of Hoofprints Photography an Lorraine Porter



Read Previous


Read Next