Report By Natalie Clark

Photographs Courtesy of Dave Murray

Iona Johnstone added just four faults to a dressage score of 27 to take home the second trophy of her 2015 season in BE100under 18 Section E. The Buckinghamshire-based rider also piloted her own Utopia I to take home a red rosette from Swalcliffe earlier in the season. The combination led from the start and finished 1.3 penalties ahead of second placed Maria Buck and Laburnam King. Amy Hine and Pacha were another combination to post a double clear, the pair finished third in this section.

Another combination competing at Ascott-under-Wchywood’s first fixture following a win at Swalcliffe was BE100 Section D winners Posy and Dancing Silver who fended off second placed Spencer Sturmey and Samarkand by 1.3 penalties. Ginny Howe finished in third place after Undalgo De Windsor kicked out an expensive rail which cost them the trophy. Of the 37 competitors to complete the cross country phase in this class, the top three contributed to only eight that finished within the optimum time.

The Swalcliffe to Ascott campaign seemed a popular choice for local riders and was also followed by BE100 Section B winners Corinna Leadbetter and Third Time who also won at the neighbouring venue. Archfield Echo finished second under Holly Bradshaw whose dressage score of 22.8 would have been enough to win had they not added four faults in the second phase. Georgie Norton and Cooley Mastermind finished in third.

The top three in BE100open Section C all accumulated time faults in the final phase. Bizzy Loffet and Little Minx posted an impressive 21.5 but added 2.4 in the final phase. However this was enough to keep Claira Miesegaes and Bruce II in the runner-up spot, this pairing added 2 time penalties from the cross country to a 24.3 dressage. Anna Tapner had to settle for third place after stopping the clock with 3.2 penalties riding The Trolly Dolly to wind up on 29.

Georgie Strang (Cooley On Ice) held onto the lead in BE100 Section F with a margin of 0.9 over second placed Claire Deuton (Manor Farm Hector). Max Warburton finished third in this section on Seniors Pet. Max was able to go two better in BE100 section a riding The Masters Legend who completed on 27.8 to take home the trophy. Becky Woolven and Gortglas Earl Grey finished on the same score but were further from the optimum time so had to settle for the bridesmaid spot. The top three was completed by two Harrys – Harry Horgan riding Noreway Harry.

In BE90 Section H North Devon-based Helen Jackson took top honours riding her own Falcons JJ. The pair fended off Ginny Howe and Cruise On Inny despite adding 2 cross country time penalties. Third place went to local New Zealand rider Bruce Haskell, who is based in nearby Bampton, and Charlotte West’s Longwood Alley Diamond.

Poppy Pugh and Chorley’s Viscount put a bad run at Larkhill, where the combination were eliminated in the final phase, to bed when they were unbeatable in BE90 section l. The top three were close in this section with the winner finishing just 0.3 ahead of second placed Zara Heathcote riding Martha Imp who was 0.2 aheadof Lucas Peries and Humbuh III. Nine of the 37 completions in this section finished the final phase penalty free.

Tom Searle piloted C Born Fresh Z to the top of the leaderboard in BE90 section k. After adding one rail down in the show jumping arena this pair finished exactly one penalty ahead of Roxanne Britnell and Barrettstown Derby. Tammy Thorton rode Lady Frisky into third place.

The event hosted three BE90 sections. Anja Persson and Callacha finished on their 30.3 dressage score to take top honours in BE90 section J. Josh Denton (Patchwork Patrick) and Lauren Shelley (Falconlake Mercedes) also finished on their first phase score to take home second and third respectively.


BE90 section I went to Hilary Ponti (Askeaton Chief) with Jess Hooley (Narramore Solstice) and Laura sale (Ballyyvoneare Pixie) in the runner up spots.


While BE90 section G was won bu Gillian Higginson and Calliaghstown Rinka. Laura Ridout (Collodge Sox) finished second and Maria Buck (Pandoras Diplomat) third.

The popular event was full to the brill for its two days of competition and also hosted two BE80(T) sections. Henry Insley was contending his first ever affiliated competition on Smudger Smith and took home the trophy in section n. Kelly Amas (Med Night Tarzan) finished in second with William Stam (Parkfiled Petit Moi) wound up third. Katie Hilliard was also contesting her first competition on Whispa II and wound up on their dressage score of 32 to take the top spot. Emma Lee (Hillside Danny Boy) and Susy Escuder (Moon Dancer II) completed the top three in section m.



Read Previous


Read Next