2019 Oceania Eventing Championships Long List Announced

Equestrian Australia has confirmed its long list of combinations for the 2019 Oceania Championships.

EA received an unprecedented number of expressions of interest, in excess of 45 combinations, for consideration in the selection process.

Teams for the championships, which will be held in Taupo, New Zealand from 10-12 May, consist of four riders; at final selection there will be two Senior teams and one Young Rider team named, plus an additional two reserves per team. Senior combinations will compete in the CCI4*-L and Young Rider combinations in the CCI3*-L.

The Oceania Championships represent a critical component of the High Performance programs preparation for the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020. With changes to the Olympic format the Oceania Championships provide a unique opportunity for athletes to experience the new format ahead of the Games.

This will be the first time that three Australian teams will be partaking in the challenge, the largest contingent of Australian athletes to attend the highly anticipated biennial event to date. The opportunity to field a second Senior team provides emerging athletes with valuable experience in a team environment under Championship conditions

High Performance Director, Chris Webb, said “Providing opportunities such as the Oceania Championships to both Australian coaches and riders is an important element in the preparation we are undertaking ahead of Tokyo 2020 and beyond.”

Senior Riders:
Amanda Ross & Poynstown Will/Dicavalli Diesel
Andrew Cooper & Oaks Onyx
Annabel Armstrong & Quaprice
Callum Buczak & Matavia Cheval
Emma Bishop & CP Issey Miyake
Emma Mason & Warrego Marco Polo
Gemma Tinney & Annapurna
Hamish Cargill & Legolas KPH
Jade Findlay & Oaks Cordelia
Jessica Rae & Rascal
Lauren Browne & Skys Da Limit
Madeline Wilson & I’m Bruce
Matt Gaske & Thymes Too
Megan Jones & RLE Barina
Shane Rose & Virgil/ Ultimate Velocity
Sonja Johnson & Misty Isle Valentino
Young Riders:
Bessie Dimery & Ruban Son
Charlotte Curwen & LP Janvier
Hannah Klep & Reprieve
Isabelle McLachlan & Ventura
Jordyn Faint & Double S & Evergreen Jackpot
Stephanie Hann & True Celebre
Tayah Andrew & Silver Force

Joining the selected combinations at the staging camp and at the competition will be High Performance team members Nelson Pessoa, Stuart Tinney, Will Enzinger and Sam Lyle. The team of experienced coaches will provide the athletes with invaluable support and direction throughout the journey.

Read Previous

Halliday-Sharp Wins Inaugural LiftMaster Grand-Prix Eventing

Read Next